Top 7 Halloween Obsessions

23 Oct

Halloween is nearing, and I am totally in my element.  October is a beautiful month–time to bake cookies and wear sweaters! But Halloween is by far my favorite holiday. Here’s my top 7 Halloween obsessions:

7. Hocus Pocus

Maybe I’m just a kid at heart, but this Disney classic has always been my favorite. Plus, it’s the only movie featuring Sarah Jessica Parker that I can really stand. All jokes aside, the movie really captures the Halloween spirit for me . And Bette Midler, like usual, is completely glamorous, even as an old, ugly witch desperate for youth. This is a cutsey Halloween guilty pleasure that I indulge in every year around this time.

6. Alter egos

Why yes this is the first photo of me ever posted on this blog (circa 2006?)

A.k.a. Costumes! I usually make a great gypsy (see above) or witch. But I also love to see the trick-or-treaters in their super-cute costumes. Typically, I make sure to either host or attend a Halloween party each year, this way I actually have a reason to purchase a costume.

5.  Pumpkin Spice / Autumn Spice

I am one of those people who counts down until Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts release their pumpkin spice products for the season. Coffee, pancakes, donuts, tea, sangria…Febreze, everything is better when it tastes and smells like fall. And who can refuse a classic hot spiced apple cider?

4. Halloween TV programming

Although I am not  hugely into television, Halloween programming is always my favorite. From ABC Family to AMC to SciFi, I am a glutton for all of the Halloween specials. Even the Travel channel and the Discovery channel feature scary, yet interesting, specials and documentaries featuring haunted travels and “true” ghost stories. My ultimate favorite; however, is the Simpsons’ Treehouse of Horror. Satirizing everything from the Shinning to Harry Potter, The Simpsons’ Treehouse of Horror captures the Halloween spirit.

3. Decorations

The ideal Halloween decor (courtesy of countryliving.com).

In my family, Halloween decorating was more important (and more fun) than decorating for Christmas–the more spiderwebs and skeletons the better. The neighborhood kids always looked forward to trick-or-treating at our over-done “Halloween house.” Typically, the decorations include a graveyard, fully spiderwebbed shrubs, purple and orange lights and several motion-sensitive pieces that make noise when trick-or-treaters approach. Last years’ new additions included a 6-foot Dracula and 4-foot Zultan Fortune teller (microphone controlled and motion sensitive).

2. Spooky Cereal


Count Chocula, Boo Berry and Franken Berry. Enough said.

1. Literary Horror

There is nothing more comfortable than getting cozy with a book, especially when the weather begins to cool down in October.  Around Halloween, you may want to consider Washington Irving’s the Legend of Sleepy Hollow,  Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein or anything by Edgar Allan Poe.  Not into classics? Well of course, horror is Stephen King’s turf.

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

