Harry Potter Exhibition in NYC

28 Jun
Promotion Poster for the Discovery Museum’s Harry Potter Exhibition

Hello all.  I hope you all had a lovely weekend (and hopefully a painless Monday).  This past Saturday I hopped over to New York City’s Discovery Museum in Times Square for the Harry Potter Exhibition. First impression: it was overcrowded. When I spoke to a member of the museum security, he divulged that the museum has more than 6,000 visitors daily for the Harry Potter Exhibition. What does that mean? 40 people in a single exhibition and LOTS OF BOTTLE NECKING. But, of course, this is to be expected in good ol’ NYC.

 
I could not provide my dear readers with original photos, since all electronic devices (phones, i-pods, cameras, etc.) are strictly prohibited and must be turned off while walking through the exhibition. For an hour and a half I repressed the need to take photos of EVERYTHING I SAW. And what did I see? Costumes galore. Wands, lots of wands. Books, beds, desks, jewlery, horcruxes…just about everything.

The Exhibition managed some great set-ups, for example, Hagrid's Hut.

Although visitors are “not to touch” most of the exhibition, some interactive portions did exist. I pulled mandrakes from their pots, I sat down in Hagrid’s Hut (see photo above) and I threw quaffles through quidditch rings. All in all, I felt more than accomplished.

Potter fanatics can also buy a variety of moderately-priced items in the gift shop, such as a $12 pen-wand or a $27 tee-shirt. This Lit Geek, however, found a $45 Marauder’s Map to be a little much.

Overall, it was worth the trip and the $27 ticket. It’s pretty much a Potter fan’s dream come true. Not to mention, this Exhibition is friendly for all ages.

2 Responses to “Harry Potter Exhibition in NYC”

  1. Franny Mika December 22, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Wow, the gift shop over there sounds much more reasonably priced than ours! The exhibition is here in Sydney at the moment, and I must admit, the gift shop is quite disappointing. When I was there mid-day, they had already ran out of Chocolate Frogs and Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans. And you had the Marauder’s map for sale??? I wanted it too, but they didn’t have it. 😦 All I got out of that was a $40 Gryffindor t-shirt which looked nothing too special anyway.

  2. absolutelycheryl July 27, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    The exhibition came to my country recently. Love it to bits! 😀

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

