All Hail Queen Besty

21 Jun

I hope my dear readers  appreciate the fact that I am truly posting about a guilty pleasure, so guilty that I hope not to lose my LitGeek status.

In lieu of any serious reading, I recently tossed aside some Austen and Bronte and picked up the Queen Betsy series by Mary Janice Davidson. Although I am still on the first installment, Undead and Unwed, I have to admit that I am pleased.

Elizabeth Taylor (“Betsy”) serves as a protagonist, and arguably, a  heroine as well.  Betsy dies at the age of 30 after being laid off from her job as a secretary on her birthday.  The worst part? She wakes up dead in a funeral parlor a few days later wearing cheap, knock-off shoes and a hideous pink suit.

Betsy is hilarious and strong simultaneously. She also appears to be the worst vampire to ever rise from the dead. This book will have you laughing out loud, which will probably cost you a few stares from curious bystanders ( I know this from personal experience).

If you are one of those who have weakly given into vampirism in your literature, this book is perfect for you.  This book comes highly recommended to Sookie Stackhouse lovers, and not just from me, ask the publisher.

Author Mary Janice Davidson

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

