The Invasion of the E-reader!

17 Aug

So this is a topic that I have tried to avoid, since I have such an intolerably strong opinion about it. Yet, my recent visit to my local Borders has forced me to blog about the invasion of the e-reader.

How do I feel about the e-reader? I think it is a despicable idea! Who the heck thought it would be a great idea to look at tiny text on a screen for hours at a time? Needless to say,  I will continue to purchase my literature the old fashion way…Even if Borders did replace their customer service desk with an “E-reader Center.” Rude.

Paper or plastic? Call me old fashioned, but I'll take the paper. (image courtesy of sustake.com)

Yet, I have to say that the e-reader seems like a remarkable tool that has some economy-boosting potential. Also, younger generations may be more interested in reading (and maybe not just in Harry Potter..?) since reading can now take place on an expensive, techy piece of equipment worth hundreds of dollars.

What’s the ultimate verdict? I’m strongly thinking about downloading the Borders e-reader app for my laptop for two reasons. 1. To have a more informed opinion about the e-reader invasion, 2. For the access to free literature of course! Will I pay to download literature onto my laptop? Nope. I’ll just take the select freebie titles that Borders offers for those who download their e-reader app. For the next few weeks my poolside backyard reading will require page turning, no fiddling on a Kindle for me.

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

