Lit Geek and the job market

17 Aug

Dearest readers…where have I been…what have I been up to? Three words: the job market. So things aren’t so terrible considering that I was a double English major who was always too busy to visit Career Development.

So for about two months I was livin’ la vida unemployed, and then all of the potential employers in my area decided that I was wonderful simultaneously.

First I began working with a financial management company as an office assistant of sorts. Unfortunately this was only part time, and I ended up pairing it with some freelance writing for a local online newspaper. Since then I have been offered two other jobs–one at a law firm and one with a print newspaper. Upon visiting the print newspaper’s office, I decided upon the law firm…I’m leaving it at that.

So I am using my English degree...just on a freelance basis.

SO currently I work full time at the law firm, writing some things, but mostly answering phones, taking messages and dealing with clients until I am better trained. On the side (aka at night and on the weekends) I still freelance for the online newspaper.

Although this is not entirely the dream career for me, I realize that I am not, by any means, doing terribly for a recent college grad. I was able to purchase (on my own!) a newer, more reliable vehicle. I now I have the money to go out with my friends on the weekend and actually afford drinks at the bar. Most importantly, I have the funds to pay for student loans. Huzzah!

Leave a comment

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.