The Chronicles of the Dance Show

28 Apr

At the risk of boring my poor readers to death, I will give you all a brief overview of how the dance show went for me with a genre breakdown.

Lyrical

My lyrical dance went fairly well considering I’ve never performed lyrical before. Due to some low blood sugar issues (and a nervous tendency not to eat when I have thesis presentations and the dance show in one day), I had some trouble staying in a few of the poses without shaking. But according to various sources it was not noticeable. I did feel quite uncomfortable wearing tights, tiny shorts and a leotard with a tank top as a costume, but I eventually got over that.

Tap

This also went fairly well considering that I haven’t tapped in public for a number of years. I remembered most of the steps, but shuffled a little too early for one time step. Apparently, much like my shaky pose problem with lyrical, it was hardly noticeable. Another minor error: in order to not slide on the stage, I used hair spray on my taps, as another dancer suggested. Well apparently I used too much and ended up sticking to the floor a bit. I prefer that over face-planting though.

This is the type of hair spray I ended up using on my taps. Maybe the extra hold was a little much?

Senior Number

All of the seniors on my university’s dance team participated in one number called the senior number. We ended up performing the different genres together, including ballet/lyrical, Irish step, tap, jazz, and hip hop.  Rotating  lines ensured that the proper dancers were at the front of the stage for each perspective genre. For another first, I performed Irish step in front of hundreds of people. I hope it looked decent, but I’m sure it was, at the very least, entertaining.

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

