Senioritis, academic burnout, and other fun tidbits

10 Apr

Right now I am closing in on my senior year of college, and I’m suddenly plagued with the phantom disease of senioritis. Most people think of senioritis as being characterized by utter laziness. I’d like to think that I am not lazy, but over-worked and over-stressed. Let’s take thesis for example. My thesis is nearly complete, and the writing process does not present an issue for me. The presentation, on the other hand, seems to be an problem. My dance show happens to be the same weekend, and somehow my luck has it that I am presenting within a few hours of actually performing. I have been extremely stressed out since I’ve heard this news. Mainly migraines, stomach aches and inability to concentrate have taken over my life. Is that senioritis?

I’m not sure, but I’m trying to lower my stress levels, only I’m not sure how to do that. It sounds strange, but I am a busy person, always on the go, and I honestly get stressed when I stay home on a weekend. I know this might be better for me, but I prefer to de-stress by going out with friends. A lack of activity stresses me out more than anything else. Strange, right?

I think part of it is that I am trying to grasp as much of the college experience as I can before time runs out. Yet, slowly I feel myself drifting toward almost a burnout, academic burnout as well as extra curricular burnout (if that exists). Last semester I would actually be reading, writing, and tutoring to the point that I could not process thoughts. By the end of the day I could not actually form sentences to speak, nor could I focus my eyes on any written text. It was a little scary, but I got through it.

I can’t help but think maybe I’m less equipped to deal with stress than other people are. Yet I notice other people who are as busy as I am tend to lash out at others (usually in the form of general nastiness). I always try to maintain a level of courtesy no matter my stress level.

Anywho, I have to admit that one way to manage stress is through music. Obvious choice, right? One song I particularly like is by Black Moth Super Rainbow called “I think it is beautiful that you are 256 colors too.” It tends to help me out sometimes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

