Poetry for a grade

10 Apr

I have only once written poetry for a grade, which turned out horribly.  Yet this is (somewhat) necessary once again for one of my senior core classes. For the project we need to write a five page paper and also construct a creative component illustrating the essay. This creative component needs to be presented to the class, and my  most obvious choice is poetry or at the very least something written and NOT visual.

At first I thought I could do something with the poetry I have already written, but I am hesitant. Going through my notebooks, most of my best work, ironically, is from high school. I don’t know how I feel about sharing this work with my classmates, most of whom probably won’t appreciate poetry at all. Let’s realize that the vast majority of people do not understand, nor do they wish to understand, poetry. It is like the black sheep of creativity. There is no such thing as poetry for the masses, unless we want to argue the idea of song lyrics as poetry. But that is an entirely different subject that will not be discussed here.

I would love to perform a slam poem…of course I’ve never written any. So some of my options are highly idealistic…I honestly wish I could be more like my favorite slam poet, Alix Olson. She is blunt, honest and powerful. I bet she’d get an A for this project!

Below I’ve posted her video; be warned that is is not PC. Miss Olson insults just about every political view possible and includes some profanity.

Hopefully, readers, you can enjoy this. I don’t necessarily agree with ALL of her political views, but I have to admire the woman’s honesty and talent.

One Response to “Poetry for a grade”

  1. joann April 15, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    that was awesome!

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

