Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

16 Mar

“I went to sleep with gum in my mouth and now there’s gum in my hair and when I got out of bed this morning I tripped on the skateboard and by mistake I dropped my sweater in the sink while the water was running and I could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.”

Today while I was on the phone describing my very own terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day to my mother, I ended up having a childhood throwback to Judith Viorst’s Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. The main idea of this book is that our protagonist, Alexander, has a day that  goes from bad to worse, and as his day progresses he says “Maybe I’ll move to Australia.” Poor thing.

Alexander, the book's protagonist, on his terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

I think this book is a piece of children’s literature that adults can easily read and appreciate for its truth and simplicity. Often with my college-aged drama, I find myself referring to this book, because as it progresses, Alexander realizes that “Some days are like that…even in Austrailia.” Some times when I have a “bad day,” I think to myself and realize, yes, some days are like that even in Australia, Michigan, Tokyo…you name the place, and it is guaranteed that someone there is having their own series of misfortunes.

I certainly hope that this book, first published in 1987 (before I was even born…yikes!) still holds significance for juvenile readers today. Should I dare to say that it’s even more substantial than Goodnight Moon? I honestly believe that this book holds a lasting impression with its readers, and teaches children to cope with days that aren’t always going to be the most pleasant.  Look at me–I’m in my 20’s, and I find that this book really helped shape my personality, at least mainly in how I deal with my terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days.

2 Responses to “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”

  1. Giovanna March 17, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    OMG. My favorite Book!!!!! EVER!!!!

  2. Madeleine April 4, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    I love this book! Thanks for posting the pictures to enhance the flashback effect.

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

