Oh, Tap Dancing!

9 Feb

For the past three years, I have been involved in my University’s dance team. This team is composed of over 100 dancers, and the best part is that all dancers who audition are automatically placed in at least one dance.

In past years I have been involved in only two genres: hip hop and jazz. The team’s typical hip hop choreography utilizes less technique than most other dance genres, so it was an easy choice considering the fact that during high school I chose to take a break from dance.

For this semester I decided to audition for jazz (my safety net), lyrical and tap. Lo and behold, the exectutive board placed me in both lyrical and tap, but not jazz. I believe my audition for tap went well, and I began to possess more confidence in my tap ability…until I actually attended our first practice.

The number we will be performing is from the opening scene of the play “42nd Street.” This number requires speed and accuracy, two skills I currently lack in this genre. Below I included a YouTube video that shows a variation of the “42nd Street” opener called “Audition Piece.” Needless to say, at the first practice I did a whole lot of stepping on my own ankles.

3 Responses to “Oh, Tap Dancing!”

  1. mraczkowski February 11, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    i wish i knew how to dance!!! stepping on your ankles is still better than i can do. you can do it!

  2. Madeleine February 16, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    So when is the big show?

    I love that there are so many dancers at this school. I didn’t get to see the fall show, so I’m really hoping to catch one this semester.

  3. alainarg February 17, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    The show is the same weekend as thesis presentations in April! It should be interesting. At least I’ll provide the comic relief!

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Changing Room Rotation

Some Things That Matter... But Mostly Things That Don't

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

The Engagement Project

[NOT] Just another WordPress.com weblog

